Sunday, February 15, 2009

Royal London Wax Museum- Architects of Victory

Here we see in the Royal London Wax Museum a scene honoring the men who made victory in the second Word War possible. From left to right have; Field-Marshal Viscount Montgomery of Alamein, Sir Winston Churchill, Louis Mountbatten, Earl Mountbatten of Burma, Dwight D. Eisenhower, and Franklin D. Roosevelt. They are standing in the rubble of the greatest conflict of the Twentieth Century.

Dwight D. Eisenhower (1890-1969), and Franklin D. Roosevelt (1882-1945). Although Roosevelt didn't live long enough to see victory, he was honored in the tableaux instead of Harry Truman.

Winston Churchill (1874-1965). The twice Prime Minister of the United Kingdom.

Louis Mountbatten (1900-1979). The longest surviving of the men seen here, he was murdered by the IRA while aboard his boat.

Field Marshal Bernard Law Montgomery (1887-1976). Son of a Bishop whose memoirs, and outspoken opinions led to controversy.

Visit the Royal London Wax Museum website here.


No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails